de | en

Experimental Semiconductor Physics

Prof. Martin Stutzmann

Research Field

Our work at the Walter Schottky Institut deals with various aspects of new and non conventional semiconductor materials and material combinations: semiconductors with a wide bandgap (GaN, InGaN, AlGaN, diamond, SiC) disordered semiconductors (amorphous, nanocrystalline, and polycrystalline) advanced thin film systems (silicon-based luminescent layers, thin film solar cells, organic/anorganic heterosystems, biofunctionalized semiconductors). Most of these material systems are prepared in our group by suitable deposition techniques (MBE, MOCVD, Plasma-enhanced CVD, e-beam evaporation, sputtering). Their efficient optimization is based on the large pool of structural, optical, and electrical characterization techniques available in our Institute. Complementary to the usual spectroscopic techniques we have developed and employ a variety of highly sensitive methods which enable us to study in particular the influence of defects on the electronic performance of materials and devices. Such techniques include subgap absorption spectroscopy, optically induced capacitance spectroscopy and, in particular, modern spin resonance techniques which are applied to various materials systems and devices for spintronics.

In addition to the preparation and characterization of new semiconductor materials we also work on the modification and processing of semiconductors with pulsed high power laser systems (laser-crystallization, holographic nano structuring, laser-induced etching) and investigate the potential of new material systems for novel device structures. Recent examples include nano structured thin film solar cells, high electron mobility transistors based on AlGaN/GaN hetero structures, as well as UV-detectors, sensors and biosensors.

Learn more about the different research areas on the research pages of the Stutzmann, Brandt, and Garrido groups.


Am Coulombwall 4
85748 Garching b. München
+49 89 289 12761
Fax: +49 89 289 12737

Members of the Research Group


Photo von Prof. Dr. Martin Stutzmann. Prof. Dr. Martin Stutzmann S207 +49 89 289-12760 E-Mail


Photo von Joana Maria Meyer Homem de Figueiredo. Joana Maria Meyer Homem de Figueiredo +49 89 289-11561 E-Mail


Photo von Johannes Bartl M.Sc.. M.Sc. Johannes Bartl +49 89 289-11523 E-Mail
Photo von Apl. Prof. Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Martin Brandt. Prof. Dr. Martin Brandt S301 +49 89 289-12758 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden PD Dr. Anna Cattani-Scholz +49 89 289-11535 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Theresa Höldrich +49 89 289-11528 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Max Kraut +49 89 289-11356 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Viktoria Kunzelmann +49 89 289-11369 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Florian Pantle +49 89 289-11315 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Felix Rauh +49 89 289-11398 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. Hannah Schamoni +49 89 289-11479 E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden Dipl.-Phys. Patrick Simon S109 +49 89 289-11330 E-Mail
Photo von Lina Maria Todenhagen B.Sc.. M.Sc. Lina Maria Todenhagen E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden M.Sc. David Vogl +49 89 289-11363 E-Mail


kein Photo vorhanden Ngoc Quang Bui E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden Jonas Hack E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden Aron Lloyd E-Mail

Other Staff

kein Photo vorhanden Michael Fischer +49 89 289-12783 E-Mail
Photo von PD  Ph.D. Jose Antonio Garrido Ariza. Dr. Jose Antonio Garrido Ariza E-Mail
kein Photo vorhanden Genet Bacha Hirpessa E-Mail
Photo von Bernhard Kratzer. Bernhard Kratzer +49 89 289-11346 E-Mail
Photo von Dipl.-Geogr. Dipl.-Ing. (FH) (Univ.) Sonja Matich. Dipl.-Geogr. Sonja Matich 089 289-11569 E-Mail
Photo von Nick Schröder. Nick Schröder +49 89 289-12738 E-Mail


Course with Participations of Group Members

Titel und Modulzuordnung
Advanced Semiconductor Physics
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
VO 4 Brandt, M. einzelne oder verschobene Termine
Quantum Sensing
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
VO 2 Brandt, M. Bucher, D. Hübl, H. einzelne oder verschobene Termine
Topical Issues in Magneto- and Spin Electronics
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
HS 2 Brandt, M. Hübl, H.
Mitwirkende: Althammer, M.Geprägs, S.
einzelne oder verschobene Termine
Exercise to Advanced Semiconductor Physics
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
UE 2 Moser, P.
Leitung/Koordination: Brandt, M.
Termine in Gruppen
Exercise to Quantum Sensing
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
UE 1
Leitung/Koordination: Brandt, M.
Termine in Gruppen
Experimentelle Methoden der Festkörperspektroskopie
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
SE 2 Brandt, M.
FOPRA-Versuch 15: Quanteninformation in Stickstoff-Fehlstellen-Zentren in Diamant (AEP, KM, QST-EX)
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
PR 1 Todenhagen, L. Vogl, D.
Leitung/Koordination: Brandt, M.
FOPRA-Versuch 28: Halbleiter-Photoelektrochemie (AEP, KM)
Zuordnung zu Modulen:
PR 1 Kuhl, M. Kunzelmann, V.
Leitung/Koordination: Sharp, I.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist keinem Modul zugeordnet.
SE 2 Belkin, M. Brandt, M. Finley, J. Holleitner, A. Sharp, I. … (insgesamt 6)

Current and Finished Theses in the Group

Side Facet-Selective Growth and Optoelectronic Properties of GaN Nanostructures
Abschlussarbeit im Masterstudiengang Physik (Physik der kondensierten Materie)
Themensteller(in): Martin Stutzmann
Top of page