Excellenzinitiative: TUM is 'excellent'!

The DFG (German Research Foundation) today (2012-06-15) announced the decision of the second programme phase of the German Excellence Initiative .

The TUM retains its title as University of Excellence. New Universities of Excellence are the HU Berlin, the universities Bremen, Köln, Tübingen and the TU Dresden.

Funding at the TUM:

Clusters of Excellence with participation from TUM:

  • Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology – SyNergy
  • Origin and Structure of the Universe
  • Center for Integrated Protein Science Munich (CIPSM)
  • Munich Centre for Advanced Photonics (MAP)
  • Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM)

The four Clusters marked in italics are joined by scientists of the Physik-Department.

Further links:

Condensed Matter

When atoms interact things can get interesting. Fundamental research on the underlying properties of materials and nanostructures and exploration of the potential they provide for applications.

Nuclei, Particles, Astrophysics

A journey of discovery to understanding our world at the subatomic scale, from the nuclei inside atoms down to the most elementary building blocks of matter. Are you ready for the adventure?


Biological systems, from proteins to living cells and organisms, obey physical principles. Our research groups in biophysics shape one of Germany's largest scientific clusters in this area.