Unfortunately, the content of this page is only available in German.

Prof. Herbert Spohn awarded "Felice Pietro Chisesi e Caterina Tomassoni" Price 2011


Prof. Herbert Spohn in front of the Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach in 2007. © MFO


The "Felice Pietro Chisesi e Caterina Tomassoni" Price is awarded each year by the physics department of the University of Rome (La Sapienza) to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in physics.


"For realizing the applicability of widely different methods of Mathematical Physics and Analysis to the solutions of open problems establishing an unprecedented standard of mathematical precision in applications of Mathematics to Physics, with particular mention of his exact solutions on:

  • the theory of roughening of surfaces
  • growth models and
  • nonequilibrium Statistical Mechanics"

Herbert Spohn received his undergraduate education in Physics at the Technical University of Stuttgart and his Ph.D. degree in 1975 from the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat at Munchen. He was postdoc at Yeshiva University and Rutgers University with Joel Lebowitz and at Princeton University with Elliott Lieb. In 1982 he joined as associate professor the group of Herbert Wagner at the LMU. Since 1998 he is full professor at Zentrum Mathematik and Physik Department of the Technical University at Munchen. He has been visiting member at the IHES, Paris, and at the Institute for Advanced Studies.

Herbert Spohn is most widely known through his work on interacting stochastic particle systems, in particular driven lattice gases, and his study of universal probability distributions for growth processes as connected to line ensembles and random matrix theory. He strived for a deeper understanding of how macroscopic laws emerge from the underlying motion of atoms. Spohn was awarded with the Max Planck Research Award, jointly with Lebowitz. He chaired the International Association of Mathematical Physics.



Prof. Herbert Spohn
Boltzmannstr. 3
85748 Garching
Tel. +49 (89) 289 - 17004
E-mail spohn@tum.de

Condensed Matter

When atoms interact things can get interesting. Fundamental research on the underlying properties of materials and nanostructures and exploration of the potential they provide for applications.

Nuclei, Particles, Astrophysics

A journey of discovery to understanding our world at the subatomic scale, from the nuclei inside atoms down to the most elementary building blocks of matter. Are you ready for the adventure?


Biological systems, from proteins to living cells and organisms, obey physical principles. Our research groups in biophysics shape one of Germany's largest scientific clusters in this area.