Professor Herbert Spohn receives Henri Poincaré Prize 2015

2015-09-10 – News from the physics department

Professor Herbert Spohn, emeritus for mathematical physics, has been awarded the Henri Poincaré Prize 2015 at the 18th International Congress of Mathematical Physics (ICMP) in Santiago de Chile – together with Alexei Borodin (MIT) and Tom Spencer (IAS).

Prof. Herbert Spohn
Prof. Herbert Spohn

Fields medallist Martin Hairer presented the laudatio. The citation for Herbert Spohn reads:

“For his seminal contributions to the theory of transitions from microscopic to macroscopic physics, including his derivation of kinetic and diffusive behavior from classical and quantum systems, and his work on the fluctuation behavior of surface growth models.”

Herbert Spohn is Emeritus of Excellence of the faculty of mathematics and also a member of the physics department.

The Henri Poincaré Prize is one of the highest distinctions in the field of mathematical physics. It is sponsored by the Daniel Iagolnitzer Foundation and consists of an award of 12000 EUR as well as a statuette of the German sculptor Reinhard Fescharek. The prize is awarded every three years at the International Congress of Mathematical Physics.

Richard Wolf / Prof. Dr. Folkmar Bornemann (Mathematik), Dr. Johannes Wiedersich (Physik)


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Herbert Spohn
Zentrum Mathematik, M5
Technische Universität München
Boltzmannstrasse 3
85748 Garching
Tel.: +49 89 289-17010 (Sekr.)

Condensed Matter

When atoms interact things can get interesting. Fundamental research on the underlying properties of materials and nanostructures and exploration of the potential they provide for applications.

Nuclei, Particles, Astrophysics

A journey of discovery to understanding our world at the subatomic scale, from the nuclei inside atoms down to the most elementary building blocks of matter. Are you ready for the adventure?


Biological systems, from proteins to living cells and organisms, obey physical principles. Our research groups in biophysics shape one of Germany's largest scientific clusters in this area.